Home

13219954_10154218658611663_1328431034_n

Second year MFA student Heather Breed Steadham has won a 2016 Great Plains Journalism Award for her column in Arkansas Life magazine. Of the award, Steadham said: “It absolutely blew my mind to win the award. I’d been writing the column for less than a year, didn’t even know I was up for the award, and ended up winning for an eight-state region. The reinforcement that I was doing something great in my creative nonfiction was such a buoy to my confidence, and the fact that I’m making a career for myself while I’m still in school shows me that the possibilities for my writing once I graduate are astronomical.”  Here at UCA, we’re proud to see our students making such strides toward their futures.

Leave a Reply

