We are pleased to announce this year’s winners: In poetry, Laura Apol for A Fine Yellow Dust, from Michigan State University Press and in prose, Jen Fawkes in Prose for Mannequin and Wife, from LSU Press.

We also congratulate the following finalists:


The Last Taxi Driver by Lee Durkee (Tin House Books)

50 Miles by Sheryl St. Germain (Etruscan Press)

Follow the Angels, Follow the Doves by Sidney Thompson (Bison Books)


All the Gay Saints by Kayleb Rae Candrilli (Saturnalia Books)

Adelante by Jessica Guzman (Switchback Books)

Aviary by Genevieve Kaplan (Velize Books)

The Book of Jane by Jennifer Label (University of Iowa Press)

Play for Time by Paula Mendoza (Gaudy Boy)

The McMath Award was founded in 2016 to promote recently published books and to honor central Arkansas author and literary advocate Phillip H. McMath, who selects the overall winner from the finalists chosen by students in the Arkansas Writers MFA Workshop.

The books for this years were published in 2020. Due to personnel emergencies in our program, we had to take a hiatus last year. However, we are pleased to say that we are back in action and considering books published in 2022 for the 8th annual prize which will be announced in early spring 2024. We sincerely thank writers and publishers for their patience and understanding.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s